First Lines

Remember, the first line is the most important sentence in your book. Here are some great examples.

“Thank God he was still asleep.” Smoke Screen, by Sandra Brown. www.sandrabrown.net

“The monster was holed up somewhere in the church, and the agent knew he finally had him.” Level 26, by Anthony E. Zuiker. www.level26.com

“I hate funerals.” Chanukah Guilt, by Rabbi Ilene Schneider, Ed.D. www.tinyurl.com/yh3rhrf

“A serial rapist terrorizes the Center City downtown area forcing office building managers to hire extra security until the police apprehend the man.”  In the Rough, by George Davis. www.garthurdavis.com 

“Maggie Parsons smiled as she walked down the hall.” Target of Vengeance, by Rebecka Vigus. www.penadream.com

“An anonymous van, some-kind-of-pale, cruised Summit Avenue, windows dark with the coming night.” Invisible Prey, by John Sandford. www.johnsandford.org

“Gasping, her body slick with sweat, the naked woman raced through the forest then stopped dead in her tracks, unsure of which way to go.”  Casa Rodrigo, by Johnny Miles. www.johnny-miles.com

“In all things, I blame the husband.” Standing Still, by Kelly Simmons. www.bykellysimmons.com

“Good morning Tina; welcome to what I hope is a long and mutual friendship.” Letters from Alcatraz: 40 Years Later, by Tina Westbrook. www.alcatrazauthor.webs.com

“It’s not my fault!” Crimes Against Commerce, by E.D. Easley.  http://edeasley.blogspot.com

“My name is lain Daniel Bryce, that’s pronounced <I-yan> and I am a pirate, but not in every sense of the word.” The Brim Tier Chronicles, Part I, Life of a Brim Tier Pirate, by Lisa Comstock. www.brimtierchronicles.com

“It was winter in Van Nuys.” The Guys Who Spied for China, by Gordon Basichis. www.gordonbasichis.com

“This book is dedicated to my heavenly Father, whom gave me vision to write every poem.” E.M.O.T.I.O.N.S.by Gloria Lathen. www.awowpoetry.com

“The ice-laden winds slammed into the force shield, testing its force with every gust, sleet hitting against it even as the snow swirled into a building blur of white.” W, Vol. 29, by Penelope Shedrech. (Connect with Lb Spurgeon on Facebook.)

“I never realized what a miraculous thing the sun had been until I’d seen it for the last time.” The Immortals Sago: Immortal, by Allison Cassatta. www.allisoncassatta.com

“I smelled blood before I had a chance to look for it, the tangy dense scent landing on the back of my tongue.” What God and Cats Know, by Sheryl Nantus. www.sherylnantus.com 

“Hello room; how is everyone tonight?” Original Sin, by S.C. Lang. www.sclang.com

“Carol Doda is larger than life; twenty-feet tall, a giant blond with flashing light bulbs for nipples, even from across the street she lights up the whole corner.” Over the Edge: Stories from the Street Life, by Kate Britton. www.katebritton.wordpress.com/

“The rain was beating against the window of my office as I sat behind my desk drinking coffee and reading the paper.” Blood Drops, by Ronald S. Barrios. www.reybooks.com

“When did we begin to deal in small children?” Ravenwood: Night’s Salvation, by Laurie Sorenson. www.MySpace.com/nights_salvation

“Lareina meticulously brushed and blow her thick black hair.” Unbreakable Hostage, by L.E. Harvey. www.leharvey.com

“Snow crowned the ridges of High Glen and lay on the wooden slopes in pearly patches, like jewelry on the bosom of a green silk dress.” A Place Called Freedom, by Ken Follett. www.ken-follett.com

“I’m going to punch Miles Langston in the skull.” 2-10, by Ron Knight. www.upauthors.com/authors/ronknight (Free, six chapter preview!)

Ron Knight

Author of twelve novels

Ron Knight

Facebook Twitter 

Share

Comments

  1. Thank you for entering my first line…you’ve no idea how much I appreciate this. Upauthor is exactly what I’ve been looking for. As authors if we just support each other we could make a difference.
    Ronald S. Barrios

  2. “In all things, I blame the husband.”
    Classic. Great opening that gives a nice insight to the character. Love your work, Kelly Simmons.

    “When did we begin to deal in small children?”
    Very intriguing. I like it. Love your work too, Lurie Sorenson.

  3. Sorry, I thought I typed Laurie correctly…

  4. Wow! Thanks! Don’t know how long this has been up, but just saw it today! Thanks again for posting.